CyberNoise Home Page

Electro » Electronic » Electronica in print » digital » online

Close To The Noise Floor presents
Third Noise Principle: Formative North American Electronica 1975-1984

by Graham Needham (© 27th November 2018)

Released 25th January 2019.

See all available formats here.

  • The third in the "Close To The Noise Floor" early electronica series – this time exploring the USA and Canada.
  • Includes legendary artists Suicide, The Residents (a previously unreleased track), Philip Glass, Terry Riley, Patrick Cowley, NON, Laurie Spiegel, Chrome, Ministry, Moev and dozens more.
  • Journey into the origins of electronica in North America – from early techno and electro to synth-pop, industrial music, ambient soundscapes and noise experiments.
  • 60 tracks across 4CDs in a 48pp hard-back book format. Over 10,000 words of artists' sleeve notes and introductory essay by Dave Henderson (Sounds/Wild Planet/MOJO).
  • Packed with previously unreleased tracks, lost gems and underground classics from lesser known artists, experimenters, innovators and outsiders.
  • Part primitive rave, part synthesiser porn, part history lesson!

A year in the making, Third Noise Principle reaches out to North America, taking in tracks from key figures on the early US and Canadian electronica underground, alongside releases by ground-breaking innovators, seminal composers and countless lesser known artists.

Enthralled by the mysterious synthesiser and inspired by the DIY ethos of punk, a quiet musical revolution took place across the western world in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Inspired by the microchip and affordable electronics, artists for whom guitars, drums and bass had become old hat began to spread their wings and breach the boundaries of sonic experimentation. Some wanted to dance, some to relax and others to confuse and confront – all are represented here.

Third Noise Principle explores every corner of this chapter in American musical history via over four hours of futurist, modern and sometimes challenging music. And who better to tell this story than the artists themselves –this lavish hard-backed package features first-hand sleeve notes from artists and their biographers, unseen photographs and an introductory essay by Sounds and Wild Planet legend Dave Henderson.

Where To Buy

NOTE: Not all the Amazon links are live - if they are not check back again at a later date.


Track Listing

Disc One

  1. Tone Set - The Devil Makes The Loudest Noise
  2. Data-Bank-A - Creators
  3. Richard Bone - Mambopolis
  4. Geoffrey Landers - Logarithms
  5. Rhythm And Noise - Current Slaughter
  6. Dark Day - The Metal Benders
  7. Futurisk - Push Me, Pull You (Pt 2)
  8. Smegma - Dancing Hairpiece Wears Two Left Shoes
  9. Suicide - Rocket USA
  10. Lon C. Diehl - Intermission: "Pop"
  11. Kevin Lazar - First Mutation [previously unreleased]
  12. Voice Farm - Am City
  13. Craig Leon - Donkeys Bearing Cups
  14. German Shepherds - I Adore You
  15. Psyclones - Slabyard

Disc Two

  1. The Residents - 99 Space Music [previously unreleased]
  2. K7ss - Hands Across The Sea (Pt 2)
  3. K Leimer - Archie's Dub
  4. Hunting Lodge - Simulation/Stimulation
  5. Short-Term Memory - Hello Grieg
  6. Blackhouse - Be Good
  7. Philip Glass - Ange Des Orages
  8. Patrick Cowley - Primordial Landscape
  9. Psyche - Mind Over Matter (Demo)
  10. Galen Herod - Lowdown
  11. Cyrnai - Max Pale Red [previously unreleased]
  12. NON - Mode Of Infection
  13. Marc Barreca - Oleo Strut
  14. F/I - Electric Piece
  15. Laurie Spiegel - Drums

Disc Three

  1. Terry Riley - Across The Lake Of The Ancient Word
  2. Michael William Gilbert - Unwinding
  3. If, Bwana - Mrs Laura
  4. Chrome - Inacontact
  5. Dog As Master - Slimy Stew And Pussy Gruel (Extract)
  6. Anode - Evening Thoughts
  7. XX Committee - Damarc
  8. Girls On Fire - Cat Vomit Punk House
  9. Problemist - United We Fall
  10. Mystery Hearsay - 1981-83 Source Mix
  11. Smersh - What The Peeper Saw
  12. Boy Dirt Car - Catalyze (Subjection To Catalyst)
  13. Architects Office - Ao 01 'Reagent'
  14. Mental Anguish - Sad Horror Film
  15. Controlled Bleeding - Untitled #3

Disc Four

  1. Joel Graham - Geomancy
  2. Executive Slacks - Thirty Years
  3. Lou Champagne System - Madness [previously unreleased]
  4. Tuxedomoon - Nite And Day (Homage À Cole Porter)
  5. Factrix - Anemone Housing
  6. Nash The Slash - Womble
  7. Sequencer People - Police Story
  8. Rational Youth - Dancing On The Berlin Wall (Demo)
  9. F/I and Boy Dirt Car - Untitled [previously unreleased]
  10. Isosceles - Possibly Winston
  11. Steve Roach - Worlds
  12. Young Scientist - Ice Floe
  13. John Bender - 36a3
  14. Ministry - Work For Love (Dub)
  15. Moev - Clerk Charade
Close To The Noise Floor on Facebook
Cherry Red Records


Link to this article = (how to link to this web site - details)
Article number = 91
Twitter Logo YouTube Facebook Instagram
© CyberNoise » a Burning Helix Company Link Burning Helix web site
part of the World Wide Release DataBase Logo network
Burning Helix may earn commission from qualifying purchases made via affiliate links on this site
To comply with European Union law your continued use of this website gives your consent to allow this website to create a cookie on your computer for site analytics. This website also uses cookies to make your browsing experience easier and more secure. See our Privacy Policy for more information including a list of cookies that this site uses.

/ /

© CyberNoise » a Burning Helix Company Link Burning Helix web site

part of the World Wide Release DataBase Logo network

Burning Helix may earn commission from qualifying purchases made via affiliate links on this site